On Read Alouds

One of my fellow teachers recently blogged about her experiences with reading aloud. I don’t have much to add, but I’ll just say that reading aloud to my classes is one of my favorite things to do, although if I’m teaching 6 sections of the same course, it can get a little overwhelming and exhausting.

Gallery-Oliver-Jeffers-Th-002
The irony is that many of our students would rather eat a book than read it.

Another recommendation I have is the use of children’s story books when trying to examine the story forms. These five minute reads can allow for minilessons that encapsulate entire plot arcs and allow you to look at the macro level of story development quickly. Last week in class, we used The Incredible Book-Eating Boy by one of my favorite children’s book authors Oliver Jeffers. I used this book firstly as an inspirational piece, because the message about reading is great. I also used it to introduce the SWBS summary tool and used it for guided instruction in the SWBS model as we all created a SWBS summary for the book after I read it aloud.

Leave a Reply

