Blogs and Student Connectivity

So my students are all keeping blogs as research journals this semester. The last two years, Junior English teachers and Chemistry teachers have collaborated on a joint research project for our students. This project is usually pretty interesting, and I think there’s a lot to be said for a shared grade-level experience for students (they’re all in it together, and it does a lot of build academic community).

The coolest thing about this is that I’m sitting on my laptop (as I usually do at night), basking in the afterglow of the Superbowl. I decide to check my blog and check my RSS feed of my students. I find a couple of students who have updated posts, and I”m able to quickly (about 5 minutes) give them some feedback and encouragement on their research topics. This will also give me a hook to talk to each of these students tomorrow during class. To me, this is what it means to educate in the 21st Century. We’re teaching our students to live in a connected world. We, ourselves, also need to live in a connected world.

One thought on “Blogs and Student Connectivity

Leave a Reply

