Model Blogging

So my students, as I mentioned in my last post, are starting blogs to serve as journals on their research projects. I’m finding this a very helpful method of communication between me and the students. I can leave comments to help clarify their confusion, encourage them, or steer them in a different direction. I’m a little concerned at this point at the lack of attention to details like sentence structure, mechanics, and spelling. I intend to come up with a quick and dirty rubric as they become accustomed to the blogging practice. I hope that will encourage them to be a little more professional.

My main regret at this point is that I didn’t implement blogs earlier in the year. For next year, I think I’ll be spending the first few weeks of class implementing the technology pieces that I want to use through the year (wikis, blogs, rss readers, email, shared calendars).

One decision I’ve made is to keep a model blog that shows the students what I expect from them. I’m choosing BPA as my research topic. I’m not sure if I’ll end up writing a full research paper on BPA or not, but I’m definitely considering it. I’ve always thought that students would benefit from witnessing me going through the process alongside them.

One thought on “Model Blogging

Leave a Reply

