Grading Student Blogs

The stifler of student creativity.

I’m struggling to grade student blogs at this point. I love the entire idea and process, as I’ve stated previously. I’m finding blogs to be advantageous for both me and the students. The problem I’m having is walking the fine line with allowing students room for experimentation and play while also encouraging them to do their best with the blogs. I want students to feel free to be creative and have fun with the blogs, but some students take advantage of this desire and use it as an excuse to not really put any effort into the blogs. So, I’ve been developing a rubric. I borrowed heavily from a few other rubrics I’ve found, and I finally settled on something that I feel will work (blogrubric). I’m going to introduce this rubric in class today, and I should be getting a round of student posts based on the rubric in the coming week. We’ll see how it goes.

Leave a Reply

